Tags

, , ,

I have numerous creative passions that include working with silver wire, creating illustrations, sewing and sculpting. Another passion I have is writing children’s books. The illustration below is an initial technique development for one of my stories. I have not been published in the genre of children’s books but I have been published in academic journals (ahhh but that is my other persona 🙂  I have a sad story to tell about children’s books… many years ago I wrote a story that was based on my childhood memory of being woken at dawn by the chatter of early morning birds. I shared that story with a well-known author who agreed to work with me on the story. In essence, he would use his reputation as a highly published author to polish the story and then we would publish together- he as the author and me as the illustrator/author.  Anyway, we had a falling out and one day, by sheer accident, I discovered that he had published the book without me. He had used another illustrator and did not acknowledge me. I could hardly breathe… I can still hardly breathe when I think about it—he is taking credit for part of my life. Who does that?

Digital illustration by qershi

Digital illustration by qershi